The uranium ore mining carried out in the 20th century was driven by the atomic arms race of the Cold War. Mining was carried out at varying levels of intensity, from initial ruthless exploitation to the planned, centrally led mining operations from the 1950s onwards. The mining areas in the west of the Erzgebirge, including Johanngeorgenstadt, Aue, and Schlema, were of particular importance during this period. In addition to shaft complex 371 at Bad Schlema, the uranium mining period is documented by the heap landscape (including, among others, heap 366 near Aue), which has since been allowed to return to nature with the help of ecological restoration.

  • Main Elements
  • Interactive Map
  • Shaft Complex 371

    Shaft Complex 371 at Bad Schlema is one of the few uranium ore mining plants owned by SDAG Wismut that has largely been preserved. The surface installations constructed from 1956 onwards include the shaft building with a 50-metre-high steel head frame, the engine house with hauling engine, and a large function and administrative building. Mining in the world’s largest uranium vein reached a depth of more than 1,800 metres. The shaft complex, which employed up to 3,000 people, was therefore one of the deepest mines in Europe and provided more than 73,000 tonnes of uranium by 1990. The complex houses a remarkable geological collection of minerals.

  • Uranium Mining Heap Landscape

    In both its scope and its impact, the uranium mining carried out by SDAG/SAG Wismut exceeded all previous mining activities in the Erzgebirge. With the creation of large, contaminated waste heaps, the initially rampant and thoughtless exploitation of the resources available changed the landscape of the western Erzgebirge to a greater extent than ever before. After German reunification and the closure of the uranium mines in 1990, the company known today as Wismut GmbH became (and continues to be) responsible for cleaning up the aftermath of the uranium mining period in this area.

  • Markus Semmler adit

    Documentary evidence for the Markus Semmler adit dates back to 1503. It was originally opened near Oberschlema to mine copper. Later, it served the bismuth, silver, cobalt, and nickel mines all around Schneeberg. In the 19th century, the new adit mouth was built. It is dated to 1841 by the keystone on the construction. By the end of the 19th century, the adit extended over roughly 43 kilometres. During the second half of the 20th century, the adit was the first important exploration site used by SAG/SDAG Wismut in the search for uranium. It was used as a reference line for all deeper excavations. From 1946 onwards, a further 174 kilometres of mine workings were cut at roughly the level of the Markus Semmler adit. The adit continues to drain water from the entire Schlema, Schneeberg, and Schneeberg-Neustädtel mining district today.

Sprache auswählen

Der im 20. Jahrhundert betriebene Uranerzbergbau war geprägt durch das atomare Wettrüsten des „Kalten Krieges“. Der Abbau erfolgte in unterschiedlicher Intensität, von der rücksichtslosen Ausbeutung bis zum planmäßigen, zentral geführten Bergbaubetrieb ab den 1950er Jahren. Von Bedeutung waren vor allem die Bergbaugebiete im westlichen Erzgebirge, darunter Johanngeorgenstadt, Aue und Schlema. Neben der Schachtanlage 371 bei Bad Schlema dokumentiert die renaturierte Haldenlandschaft (u.a. mit der Halde 366 bei Aue) die Phase des Uranerzbergbaus.

  • Hauptelemente
  • Interaktive Karte
  • Schachtkomplex 371

    Der Schachtkomplex 371 bei Bad Schlema ist eine der wenigen Uranerz-Bergbauanlagen der SDAG Wismut, die in großen Teilen erhalten geblieben ist. Die ab 1956 errichteten Tagesanlagen umfassen das Schachtgebäude mit 50 m hohem Stahl-Fördergerüst, das Maschinenhaus mit Fördermaschine und ein großes Funktions- und Verwaltungsgebäude. Der Bergbau in der weltweit größten Uranganglagerstätte erreichte eine Abbautiefe von mehr als 1.800 m. Die Schachtanlage, die bis zu 3.000 Personen beschäftigte, gehörte damit zeitweise zu den tiefsten Bergwerken Europas und lieferte bis 1990 mehr als 73.000 t Uran. Die Anlage beherbergt eine beachtenswerte lagerstättenkundliche Mineraliensammlung.

  • Haldenlandschaft Uranerzbergbau

    Der durch die SDAG/SAG Wismut betriebene Uranerzbergbau übertraf in Umfang und Auswirkungen alle bisherigen Bergbautätigkeiten im Erzgebirge. Die zu Beginn rücksichtslose Ausbeutung der vorhandenen Ressourcen veränderte die Landschaft des westlichen Erzgebirges durch große, kontaminierte Halden in einem bis dahin unbekannten Ausmaße. Seit der Schließung der Uranbergwerke im Jahr 1990 und der deutschen Wiedervereinigung ist es die Aufgabe der heutigen Wismut GmbH die Hinterlassenschaften des Uranbergbaus zu sanieren.

  • Markus-Semmler-Stolln

    Der Markus-Semmler-Stolln ist bereits für 1503 urkundlich belegt. Er wurde zunächst für den Kupfererzbergbau bei Oberschlema angelegt. Später diente er den Gruben des Wismut-, Silber-, Kobalt- und Nickelerzbergbaus in der breiten Umgebung von Schneeberg. Im 19. Jahrhundert erfolgte die neue Anlage des Mundloches, das durch den Schlussstein auf das Jahr 1841 datiert ist. Der Stolln erstreckte sich Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts über etwa 43 km. In der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts war der Stolln das erste wichtige Erkundungsniveau für den Uranerzbergbau der SAG/SDAG Wismut und wurde als Bezugslinie für alle tieferen Auffahrungen genutzt. Etwa auf dem Niveau des Markus Semmler Stollens wurden ab 1946 weitere 174 km Grubenbaue aufgefahren. Noch heute entwässert er das gesamte Schlemaer, Schneeberger und Schneeberg-Neustädtler Revier.