select language

5 Czech component parts

Czech component parts of the Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří Mining Region

The five Czech component parts are located in the districts of Karlovy Vary and Ústí nad Labem, in predominantly rural or forested areas.

Three vast landscape areas represent the important ore districts and their respective mining towns on the Czech side: the Jáchymov Mining Landscape, the Abertamy–Boží Dar–Horní Blatná Mining Landscape and the Krupka Mining Landscape.

The two other components document mining infrastructure or smaller mining landscapes: the Vrch Mědník (Kupferberg) Mining Landscape and the Red Tower of Death near Ostrov.