select language

The Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří World Heritage Mining Region consists of a total of 22 component parts: 17 sites in Germany and five in the Czech Republic. As a whole, the selected monuments and natural and cultural landscapes represent the most important mining areas and epochs in Saxon-Bohemian ore mining. Each component part comprises various different objects and/or landscapes.

In addition to above- and below-ground mining artefacts, historical town and mining landscapes have also been considered, such as lines of heaps.

All 22 component parts must be taken in conjunction in order to justify their significance and importance as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

To give a comprehensive picture of the region’s historical mining heritage, additional locations have been designated as “associated objects” of the World Heritage Site.