The World Heritage Convention

The Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage was adopted in 1972. Its aim is to preserve globally unique cultural and natural properties of outstanding universal value as world heritage of mankind as a whole. The World Heritage Convention, signed by 193 states to date, is the most internationally important and most successful instrument for the protection of cultural and natural heritage ever agreed by the international community. The sites are inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List, which currently includes 1092 natural and cultural sites worldwide (as of June 2018).


No news available.

Press releases

No news available.

Extract from the mining lexicon

Welterbe Montanregion Erzgebirge e.V.

Adam-Ries-Straße 16
09456 Annaberg-Buchholz

tel: (+49) 3733/145 350
fax: (+49) 3733/145 145

Go to contact form