When the Reformation was introduced to Saxony by Duke Heinrich “the Pious”, a parish church was erected between 1536 and 1537. It was not situated on an exposed site directly by the marketplace, as was still customary in the Middle Ages, but a little further away. Between 1558 and 1564, construction took place of a three-naved late-Gothic hall church with seven bays, under the direction of the master stonemason Wolf Blechschmidt, from Pirna. It was modelled on the large parish churches of Annaberg, Schneeberg and Pirna. In 1610, in the biggest blaze in Marienberg’s history, the church burned down, leaving only the outer walls, the tower and the sacristy intact. It was rebuilt in 1616, and again from 1667 to 1675. It measures 56 m along its entire outer length, and the tower stands 60 m tall. Inside, the church boasts significant early Baroque style fittings displaying Italian influences, hailing from different centuries. There is also a splendid Schubert organ.