select language

Component parts of the Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří Mining Region

The region’s significance as World Heritage is still evident today in the examples of mining history that are preserved here.

The nomination comprises 22 component parts in total: 17 sites in Germany and five in the Czech Republic. Together, they provide a vivid insight into a cultural and historical landscape irrevocably shaped by mining. The characteristic features of the selected cultural landscapes bear witness to the region’s mining history,
demonstrating its global importance as a key ore mining area and illustrating the different mining eras in Saxony and Bohemia.

Each component part includes a range of objects associated with mining (around 400 in Saxony alone). These component parts encompass artefacts related to mining used both above and below ground, historical mining towns, and characteristic landscape features such as sinkholes and lines of heaps. 

Taken together, the 22 component parts demonstrate the outstanding universal value of the World Heritage Site.



17 + 5 = a shared World Heritage

component parts

The Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří Mining Region is represented by 22 component parts, 17 of which are located on the Saxon side. These can be allocated in turn to six historical mining areas as well as to uranium ore mining. The selection is based on the outstanding universal value and unique attributes of the region in an international context.

Huhu NMama!
component parts

The five Czech component parts are located in the districts of Karlovy Vary and Ústí nad Labem, in predominantly rural or forested areas. Three vast landscape areas represent the important ore districts and their respective mining towns on the Czech side: the Jáchymov Mining Landscape, the Abertamy–Boží Dar–Horní Blatná Mining Landscape and the Krupka Mining Landscape.

Bergbaulandschaft Vrch Medník (Kupferberg) "Mundloch gelobtes Land Stolln"
Foto: Petr Miksicek