select language

In order to explore uranium mineralization, the main crosscut of Adit No. 1 in the length of 220 m was driven between 1th of July 1952 and 1th of September 1952 and has been a respectable performance in those days. The crosscut reached the old mine workings on the Johannes Evangelist silver vein which was then followed by an exploratory drift. Exploration came to an end in the mid-1950s. By a fenced corridor the entire site was directly connected with the Svornost mine. To prevent escaping of prisoners working in the adit, solid bars were mounted on the exits to the surface which are still visible at todays visitor mine. The gallery of the adit displays specimens of different types of mine construction (wood, steel, bolted), tubs and hand mining tools (drills, drilling hammers) used in uranium mining after World War II.

Interactive Map