The area around Krupka (Graupen) has been profoundly shaped by tin ore mining over a period of at least 800 years. Streaming was probably used to extract tin here from as early as the Bronze Age. From the 13th century at the latest, tin ore was mined, but copper and later tungsten, bismuth and molybdenum ores were also extracted, along with common feldspar and fluorite. As the oldest tin district in the Erzgebirge, Krupka has greatly influenced the science of mining tin deposits. This knowledge was applied in Krupka and in other districts on both the Bohemian and the Saxon sides of the mountains.

The Starý Martin adit is a first-class mining monument that has the longest tin lode in central Europe with a strike of 2 km. Many further important remains of above-ground and below-ground mining from the 13th to the 20th century can be found in the mining districts Knötel, Preisselberg and Komáří hůrka (Mückenberg). The growth of the mining town Krupka is closely connected to mining. Particularly striking is Krupka Castle, a 14th-century building. Other buildings of great importance are the Gothic Church of the Assumption of Mary with its late Gothic bell tower, the Church of the Holy Spirit, the Church of St. Anna, preserved in the Renaissance style, and historical town houses.

  • Main Elements
  • Interactive Map
  • Krupka Historic Old Town

    The mining town of Krupka was founded before 1330. It is closely connected to the mining of tin ore in the area. The medieval plan of the town accommodates the topographical characteristics of the site and has been completely retained to this day. Krupka Castle towers over the town. The castle dates back to the early 14th century and was originally a defensive feudal fortification, later serving as the mining authority for the Graupen mining district. They heyday of Krupka was in the second half of the 15th century, when tin ore mining flourished in the region. A large number of Gothic buildings in the town date back to this period, such as the Heiliggeistkirche, or Church of the Holy Spirit (1454) and the Minorite monastery (1474). Most notably, however, the renovation of the older Maria Himmelfahrt (Assumption of Mary) Church (1479–1488), with its unmistakable late-Gothic bell tower, took place during this period.

  • Steinknochen mining landscape

    The most historically significant area of the Graupen mining district lies north of the town of Krupka below Komáří hůrka mountain. More than 150 tin mines operated here from the medieval period through to the late 18th or early 19th century. The number and density of the mines is unusual both for the Erzgebirge and for Europe. The landscape is shaped by dozens of collapsed shafts and adit mouths, as well as by various heaps ranging from small raised mounds to large, flat heap structures. These are easily visible on old maps or images created using modern laser scanning techniques. The distance between the heaps roughly matches the old mine measurements dictated by the 1487 Graupen mining code: either 36 x 36 metres or 72 x 36 metres.

  • Knötel mining landscape

    Beneath the line of the Komáří hůrka cable car lies the Knötel mining landscape. This area was the largest ore field in the Graupen region. Today, it is filled with relics from the area’s mining history from the 14th to the 20th century—and the history of tin mining in particular. As early as the 14th century, numerous small mines close to the surface could be found throughout the area, which have since left behind adits, shafts, and heaps from different periods. From the 17th to the 19th century, more mines and adits were opened throughout the district, including the Jacobs Fart (Jacob’s Ladder) mine and the Siebenschläfer (Seven Sleepers) adit. The larger heaps dating from the end of this mining period indicate that the adits and mines were excavated more deeply at this time. During and immediately after the Second World War, new adits (named Prokop, Barbora and Václav) were built for the extraction of molybdenite and potash feldspar. Mining ended in 1956.

  • Sink-hole Komáří hůrka

    The largest above-ground relic of tin extraction in the Graupen district is the Große Pinge (“Big Sink-hole”), just below the summit of the Komáří hůrka (808 metres above sea-level). Records concerning underground mining at this location go back to 1416. The sink-hole developed as the result of the excavation of a 140 x 45 metre greisen deposit primarily containing tin and copper ores. At roughly 75 metres deep, the depression – covering approximately 5,000 square metres – was formed by the collapse of the underlying excavated chambers. Dürrholz adit, the most important adit in the district, has drained water from the area since the end of the 15th century. Surrounding the sink-hole were a series of other mines, including the Glatz mine. With the help of a whim shaft, tin and copper ore were extracted from a depth of up to 200 metres from the 1680s onwards.

Sprache auswählen

Die Gegend um Krupka (Graupen) ist durch den Abbau von Zinnerzen über einen Zeitraum von etwa 800 Jahren stark geprägt worden. Zinn wurde hier vermutlich schon in der Bronzezeit durch Waschen gewonnen. Spätestens seit dem 13. Jahrhundert erfolgte die bergmännische Gewinnung von Zinnerzen, aber auch von Kupfer, Wolfram, Wismut und Molybdän. Als das älteste Zinnrevier des Erzgebirges hat Krupka das Wissen über den Abbau von Zinnlagerstätten maßgeblich beeinflusst. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse wurden in Krupka aber auch in anderen Revieren sowohl auf böhmischer, als auch auf sächsischer Seite des Gebirges angewandt.

Ein bedeutendes Montandenkmal dieser Kulturlandschaft ist das Besucherbergwerk Starý Martin (Alter Martin), das mit einer Länge von 2 km über den längsten Zinnerzgang in Mitteleuropa verfügt. Viele weitere bedeutende Relikte des Tage- und Untertagebaus aus dem 13. bis 20. Jahrhundert findet man in den umliegenden Bergbaurevieren Knötel, Preisselberg und Komáří hůrka (Mückenberg).

Eng verbunden mit dem Bergbau ist die Entstehung der Bergstadt Krupka mit der markanten, gleichnamigen Burg aus dem 14. Jahrhundert. Von großer Bedeutung sind zudem die Maria-Himmelfahrt-Kirche mit spätgotischem Glockenturm, die Heiliggeistkirche, die im Renaissancestil gehaltene St. Annakirche und die historischen Bürgerhäuser.

  • Hauptelemente
  • Interaktive Karte
  • Historische Altstadt Krupka/Graupen

    Die Bergstadt Krupka (Graupen), deren Gründung noch vor dem Jahr 1330 erfolgte, ist eng mit dem Zinnerzbergbau verbunden. Der mittelalterliche Grundriss der Stadt, der sich den topographischen Gegebenheiten vor Ort anpasst, ist bis heute vollständig erhalten. Über der Stadt thront die Burg Krupka, die auf das frühe 14. Jahrhundert zurückgeht und ursprünglich als Feudalsitz mit Verteidigungsfunktion, später als Bergamt des Graupner Reviers diente. Ihre Blütezeit erlebte Krupka in der zweiten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts, als der Zinnerzbergbau in der Umgebung stark florierte. Auf jene Zeit gehen zahlreiche gotische Bauten der Stadt zurück, so etwa die Heiliggeistkirche (1454) und das Minoritenkloster (1474). Vor allem aber erfolgte damals der Umbau der älteren Maria Himmelfahrt-Kirche (1479–1488) mit ihrem unverwechselbaren spätgotischen Glockenturm. ursprünglich ein befestigter Feudalsitz mit Verteidigungsfunktion, in dem später das Bergamt des Graupner Reviers untergebracht war.

  • Bergbaulandschaft Steinknochen

    Das historisch bedeutendste Graupner Bergbaurevier befindet sich nördlich der Stadt Krupka, unterhalb des Komáří hůrka (Mückenberg). Vom Mittelalter bis ins späte 18. bzw. frühe 19. Jahrhundert waren mehr als 150 Zinngruben in Betrieb. Die Anzahl und Dichte der Gruben ist im erzgebirgischen und auch im europäischen Vergleich außergewöhnlich. Dutzende eingestürzte Schächte und Mundlöcher, aber auch verschiende Halden (von kleinen Rundhalden bis zu großen flachen Haldenkörpern) prägen die Landschaft. Auf historischen Karten oder in Laserscanaufnahmen sind sie gut sichtbar. Der Abstand zwischen den Halden entspricht in etwa der Größe der alten Grubenmaße aus der Graupner Bergbauordnung von 1487: 36 x 36 m oder alternativ 72 x 36 m.

  • Bergbaulandschaft Knötel

    Unterhalb der heutigen Seilbahn am Komáří hůrka (Mückenberg), befindet sich die Bergbaulandschaft Knötel. Sie war das flächengrößte Revier der Graupner Region und umfasst heute bergbauliche Sachzeugen (v.a. des Zinnergbergbaus) vom 14. bis in das 20. Jahrhundert. Bereits im 14. Jahrhundert war das Gebiet durch eine Vielzahl kleiner, oberflächennaher Grubenbaue erschlossen, die Stolln, Schächte und Halden aus unterschiedlichen Epochen hinterlassen haben. Vom 17. bis zum 19. Jahrhundert wurden über das gesamte Revier weitere Gruben und Stolln aufgefahren, darunter die Grube Jacobs Fart oder der Siebenschläfer Stolln. Dass die Stolln und Gruben am Ende dieser Bergbauperiode tiefer abgebaut wurden, dokumentieren die größeren Halden aus der Zeit. Während bzw. unmittelbar nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg erfolgte der Abbau von Molybdänit und Kalifeldspat durch die Anlage neuer Stolln (Prokop Stolln, Barbora Stolln oder Václav Stolln). Der Bergbau endete 1956.

  • Pinge auf dem Mückenberg (Komáří hůrka)

    Das größte übertägige Relikt der Zinngewinnung im Graupner Revier ist die Große Pinge, die sich knapp unterhalb des Gipfels am Mückenberg (Komáří hůrka) (808 m ü.NN.) befindet. Der Untertagebau in dieser Gegend ist bereits für das Jahr 1416 belegt. Die Pinge entstand durch Abbau eines rund 140x45 Meter großen Greisenkörpers, im welchem v.a. Zinn- und Kupfererze vorkamen. Die etwa 75 m tiefe und ca. 5.000 m² große Senke entstand durch den Einsturz der darunterliegenden abgebauten Kammern. Seit Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts wurde das Gebiet vom Stolln Dürrholz, dem wichtigsten Stolln des Reviers, entwässert. In der Umgebung der Pinge befanden sich eine Reihe weiterer Gruben, zu denen u.a. die Grube Glatz gehörte. Mithilfe eines Göpelschachtes wurden ab den 1680er Jahren Zinn- und auch Kupfererze bis in eine Tiefe von 200 Metern abgebaut.