Between 1529 and 1533, shortly after the founding of Jáchymov, three new important mining towns appeared almost simultaneously in the upper reaches of the Erzgebirge: Abertamy (Abertham), Boží Dar (Gottesgab) and Horní Blatná (Bergstadt Platten). The reason behind this was the rich discoveries of silver, tin and iron ores in the near vicinity. Abertamy with its neighbouring mining settlement Hřebečná (Hengstererben) was built on Bohemian territory. Horní Blatná and Boží Dar, on the other hand, were founded by the Saxon Elector John Frederick on previously undeveloped land and only incorporated into the Kingdom of Bohemia in 1546.

Horní Blatná is one the most striking examples of Renaissance-style planned mining towns in the Erzgebirge. Similar to Marienberg, its distinctive features are a large, central, almost square marketplace, dominated by the Church of St. Lawrence, and a system of roads running perpendicular to each other.

The ore districts Horní Blatná, Hřebečná and Bludná (Irrgang) bear witness to 400 years of tin ore mining. Overground, a series of notable objects are preserved, including Vlčí Jámy sinkhole and Ledová Jáma sinkhole on the summit of Blatenský vrch (Plattenberg), the sinkhole of Susanna mine in Bludná, and the Schneppova sinkhole in Hřebečná. Worthy of special mention is the sinkhole of the Red Mine in Hřebečná, which measures over 230 m and is one of the largest of its kind internationally. From the perspective of mining history, the underground section of the Mauritius mine in Hřebečná is of great value. There, authentic evidence for a wide variety of tin ore mining processes from the 16th to the 19th century is preserved. In the skarn district Zlatý Kopec (Goldenhöhe), where tin, iron, copper and zinc ores were mined, clear evidence of underground ore extraction is preserved. A unique element of the local mining landscape are the heaps near Boží Dar, which bear witness to the enormous scale of cassiterite mining by placer work in the highest reaches of the Erzgebirge. The man-made ditch Blatenský příkop, still fully functional today, can be considered one the most significant mining water supply systems in the Czech part of the Erzgebirge.

  • Main Elements
  • Interactive Map
  • Tin placer deposits at Boží Dar

    Hundreds of tiny, well-preserved hills (known as heaps) can be found to the west of Boží Dar. They are evidence of the importance of panning for tin in the highest parts of the Erzgebirge. Placer mining for cassiterite was carried out here from at least the 16th century and continued until the start of the 19th century. The total area of the placer deposit landscape adds up to over 250,000 square metres, making it one of the largest tin placer deposit areas in central Europe. Most of the heaps are between 5 and 10 metres in length. However, some are over 20 metres long and a number are over 2 metres high. Many placers are found downstream of the Černá brook near Myslivny and Ryžovna. The placers represent a unique element of the local mining landscape. The landscape is also notable for its characteristic vegetation, which differs from that of the surrounding area.

  • Zlatý Kopec mining landscape

    In the Kaff ore field in Zlatý Kopec or Goldenhöhe (Golden Hill) near Boží Dar, tin, iron, and to a lesser extent copper ore were mined as early as the first half of the 16th century. The mines were in operation up until the 1860s. Over an area of approximately 1,500 x 400 metres, there are countless authentic elements both above and below the surface which bear witness to past mining activity, including hundreds of sink-holes as well as crumbling mines and adits. The entire area of mountainous and forested terrain was untouched by later changes in the landscape, and has retained its original character as a mining landscape.

  • Hřebečná mining landscape

    This ore field is one of the most important historical tin deposit sites in the Czech Republic. For over 400 years starting in the 16th century, tin was extracted here in the form of cassiterite. The well-preserved mining landscape features a large number of artefacts of past mining activity both above and below ground which are important beyond the regional level. The most important of these are the Rote Grube (Red Mine) surface mines, the Schnepp Pinge sink-hole, and above all the Mauritius mine, the largest and deepest tin mine in the Czech Erzgebirge, which was designated as a national monument in 2014.

  • Horní Blatná mining landscape

    At the beginning of the 1530s, rich tin deposits were discovered in the region surrounding the current mining town of Horní Blatná, which were the reason for the town’s founding in 1532. The largest mines were built on the Plattenberg mountain (Blatenský vrch) to mine the Wolfgang and Georg seams. These seams, known as greisen veins, were several metres in width. They were developed both above and below ground from the 16th century until the second half of the 18th century. Among the features that have survived are the Wolfspinge (Vlčí jáma, “Wolf’s Pit”) and Eispinge (Ledová jáma “Ice Pit”) sinkholes.

  • Horní Blatná Historic Old Town

    The mining town of Horní Blatná is one of the most picturesque examples of the mining towns planned and constructed in the Renaissance style on greenfield in the Erzgebirge. In contrast to many mining towns, which were built following the discovery of significant silver ore deposits, Horní Blatná is the only example of a planned town connected to the discovery of tin deposits. It was founded in 1532 by Johann Friedrich, the elector of Saxony at the time. Like Marienberg in Saxony, the town has a central, almost-square market place and a system of perpendicular streets. Furthermore, there are a number of valuable historical buildings of Gothic or Renaissance architecture, as well as a series of more recent half-timbered buildings in the vernacular style of the 18th century. In 1992, the historic centre of Horní Blatná was declared a protected urban area.

  • Platten manmade ditch

    The Platten manmade ditch is an outstanding example of the technical capabilities of the water engineers of the 16th century. It is the longest water supply course for mining in the Czech part of the Erzgebirge and is still functional today. Built between 1540 and 1544 and with a length of 13 kilometres, the ditch provided motive water for dozens of mines and ore dressing works from Boží Dar to Horní Blatná right into the 19th century. The ditch is up to two metres wide and up to one metre deep. The bed of the ditch was reinforced using wooden planking. Following maintenance carried out between 1995 and 2001, the ditch features (among other things) ten relief overflows, 25 jetties and culverts, and 39 sand and gravel traps.

Sprache auswählen

Zwischen 1529 und 1533, kurz nach der Gründung von Jáchymov, entstanden in den hohen Lagen des Erzgebirges fast gleichzeitig drei neue bedeutende Bergstädte – Abertamy (Abertham), Boží Dar (Gottesgab) und Horní Blatná (Bergstadt Platten). Grund dafür waren die reichen Silber-, Zinn- und Eisenerzfunde in der Umgebung. Abertamy mit benachbarter Bergbausiedlung Hřebečná (Hengstererben) entstand auf böhmischem Territorium. Horní Blatná und Boží Dar hingegen wurden vom sächsischen Kurfürsten Johann Friedrich auf „grüner Wiese“ gegründet und erst 1546 dem Königreich Böhmen angeschlossen.

Horní Blatná ist eines der anschaulichsten Beispiele für die im Renaissancestil planmäßig erbauten Bergstädte des Erzgebirges. Ähnlich wie Marienberg ist sie durch einen zentralen, fast quadratischen Marktplatz mit der dominanten Kirche St. Laurentius und einem System von zueinander senkrecht verlaufenden Straßen gekennzeichnet.

Die Erzreviere Horní Blatná, Hřebečná und Bludná (Irrgang) zeugen von 400 Jahren Zinnerzabbau. Übertage haben sich eine Reihe von bemerkenswerten Sachzeugen erhalten, darunter die Wolfs- und die Eispinge auf dem Plattenberg, die Pinge der Grube Susanna in Bludná und die mehr als 230m lange Pinge der Roten Grube in Hřebečná, die zu den größten ihrer Art auch im internationalen Maßstab zählt.

Aus montanhistorischer Sicht ist der unterirdische Bereich der Grube Mauritius in Hřebečná von großer Bedeutung, da dort authentische Nachweise der unterschiedlichen Abbauverfahren von Zinnerzen vom 16. bis in das 19. Jahrhundert erhalten geblieben sind.

Ein einzigartiges Element der Montanlandschaft sind die sogenannten Raithalden bei Boží Dar, die vom Ausmaß der Gewinnung von Zinnstein durch Seifenarbeit in den Hochlagen des Erzgebirges zeugen. Der angrenzende Plattner Kunstgraben kann als bedeutendste bergbauliche Wasserversorgungsanlage im tschechischen Teil des Erzgebirges bezeichnet werden.

  • Hauptelemente
  • Interaktive Karte
  • Zinnseifen bei Boží Dar/Gottes Gab

    Hunderte gut erhaltene, winzige Hügel, sog. Raithalden, die sich westlich von Boží Dar befinden, belegen die Bedeutung des Zinnwaschens in den höchstgelegenen Regionen des Erzgebirges. Zinnstein wurde hier spätestens ab dem 16. Jahrhundert bis Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts „geseift“. Die Gesamtfläche der Seifenlandschaft beläuft sich auf über 250.000 m², womit sie zu den größten Zinnseifengebieten Zentraleuropas gehört. Die einzelnen Raithalden sind in der Regel 5–10 m, einige aber auch über 20 m lang und teilweise mehr als zwei Meter hoch. Viele Seifen befinden sich stromabwärts des Černá Baches bei Myslivny und Ryžovna. Die Seifen stellen ein einzigartiges Element der hiesigen Bergbaulandschaft dar, die auch durch ihre typische, von der Umgebung abweichende Vegetation auffällig ist.

  • Bergbaulandschaft Zlatý Kopec/Goldenhöhe

    Im Revier Kaff in Zlatý Kopec (Goldenhöhe) bei Boží Dar wurden schon in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts Zinn-, Eisen- und in geringerer Menge auch Kupfererze gefördert. Die Gruben waren bis in die 60er Jahre des 19. Jahrhunderts in Betrieb. Auf einer Fläche von rund 1.500 x 400 m gibt es unzählige authentische über- sowie untertägige Sachzeugen, darunter hunterte Pingen sowie verbrochene Stolln und Gruben. Das gesamte Gebiet in einem bergigen und bewaldeten Gelände blieb von späteren Landschaftsveränderungen unberührt und hat damit seinen ursprünglichen Charakter als Bergbaulandschaft erhalten.

  • Bergbaulandschaft Hřebečná/Hengstererben

    Dieses Revier gehört zu den bedeutendsten historischen Zinnerzlagerstätten in der Tschechischen Republik. Vom 16. Jahrhundert an wurde über einen Zeitraum von 400 Jahren Zinn in Gestalt von Kassiterit (Zinnstein) abgebaut. Die gut erhaltene Bergbaulandschaft enthält eine Vielzahl an übertägigen und untertägigen Sachzeugen des Bergbaus, die von überregionaler Bedeutung sind. Die wichtigsten von Ihnen die Oberflächenabbaue der Roten Grube, die Schnepp Pinge und insbesondere die Grube Mauritius, die größte und tiefste Zinngrube imn tschechischen Erzgebirge, die 2014 als Nationales Denkmal ausgewiesen wurde.

    • Rote Grube
    • Schnepp Pinge
    • Grube Mauritius mit Stolln Kryštof
    • Wasserwirtschaftssystem Hřebečná
  • Bergbaulandschaft Horní Blatná/Platten

    Zu Beginn der 30er Jahre des 16. Jahrhunderts wurden in der Umgebung der heutigen Bergstadt Horní Blatná (Bergstadt Platten) ergiebige Zinngänge gefunden, die den Impuls zur Gründung der Stadt im Jahre 1532 gaben. Die größten Gruben entstanden auf dem Plattenberg (Blatenský vrch) auf den Gängen Wolfgang and Georg. Die sogenannten Greisengänge hatten eine Stärke von mehreren Metern und wurden vom 16. Jahrhundert bis in die zweite Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts sowohl übertägig als auch untertägige angebaut. Zu den erhaltenen Sachzeugen gehören die Wolfspinge (Vlčí jáma) und die nahegelegene Eispinge (Ledová jáma).

  • Historische Altstadt Horní Blatná/Platten

    Die Stadt Horní Blatná (Bergstadt Platten) ist eines der anschaulichsten Beispiele für die im Renaissancestil auf "grüner Wiese" geplanten und errichteten Bergstädte des Erzgebirges. Im Gegensatz zu vielen Bergstädten, die in Folge von reichen Silbererzfunden entstanden, ist Horní Blatná das einzige Beispiel für eine planmäßig erbaute Stadt im Zusammenhang mit Zinnvorkommen. Im Jahre 1532 wurde sie vom sächsischen Kurfürsten Johann Friedrich gegründet. Wie das sächsische Marienberg, weist die Stadt einen zentralen, fast quadratischen Marktplatz und ein System von zueinander senkrecht verlaufenden Straßen auf. Ebenso haben sich mehrere historisch wertvolle Objekte mit einem Gebäudekern aus den Stilepochen der Gotik und der Renaissance sowie eine Reihe jüngerer Objekte der volkstümlichen Architektur des 18. Jahrhunderts mit Fachwerkkonstruktionen erhalten. 1992 wurde der historische Kern von Horní Blatná zur städtischen Denkmalschutzzone erklärt.

  • Plattner Kunstgraben

    Ein hervorragendes Beispiel für das technische Geschick der Wasserwirtschaftler des 16. Jahrhunderts ist der bis heute funktionsfähig erhaltene Plattner Kunstgraben, die längste bergbauliche Wasserzuführung im tschechischen Teil des Erzgebirges. In den Jahren 1540 bis 1544 errichtet, stellte er bis ins 19. Jahrhundert hinein auf einer Länge von 13 km das Aufschlagwasser für Dutzende von Gruben- und Aufbereitungsbetrieben von Boží Dar (Gottesgab) bis Horní Blatná (Bergstadt Platten) sicher. Der Graben ist bis zu zwei Meter breit und bis zu einem Meter tief. Sein Wasserbett wurde durch eine Holzverschalung befestigt. Nach der Instandsetzung in den Jahren 1995 bis 2001 verfügt der Graben unter anderem über zehn Entlastungsüberläufe, 25 Stege und Durchlässe sowie 39 Sand- und Schotterfänge.