Lauenstein Castle was built around the end of the 12th century. Following its conversion to a spectacular palace in the 15th century, it was owned from 1517 to 1821 by the noble family von Bünau, who were instrumental in the development of mining in the Saxon Erzgebirge. The fully renovated castle contains the Eastern Erzgebirge Museum and a collection showcasing history and nature in the eastern Erzgebirge.