Lauenstein Castle was built around the end of the 12th century. After being remodelled into a residential castle in the 15th century, it became the property of the aristocratic von Bünau family, who were instrumental in the development of mining in the Saxon Erzgebirge and who owned the from 1517 to 1821. The fully renovated castle houses the Eastern Erzgebirge Museum including its collection showcasing history and nature in the eastern Erzgebirge.