The landscape shaped by mining to the north of the former mining town of Měděnec (Kupferberg) is a significant component part of mining historical heritage in the central Erzgebirge. Mining was primarily concentrated in the vicinity of the summit Mědník.

There is evidence of the mining of iron and silver-bearing copper ores from hard skarns here for a period of almost six centuries. The distinctive hill with the Baroque Chapel of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception, which dates from 1674, is unique not only in the Erzgebirge but also in Europe because of its large number of historic mines. On a small area, approximately 70 adits and shafts were operational between the 15th and the 19th century; of these, numerous collapsed openings, funnel-shaped sinkholes and heaps of waste rock remain.

The adits Marie Pomocná and Země zaslíbená are open for the public and clearly illustrate the preserved evidence of sinking of shafts by hand and firesetting.

 

 

 

  • Main Elements
  • Interactive Map
  • Vrch Mědník mining landscape

    Vrch Mědník is an authentic mining landscape which showcases the various different techniques used for extracting iron and copper, and to a lesser extent silver, from hard skarn stone over a period of more than 400 years (15th to 19th centuries). Due to its exposed altitude and ease of access, Vrch Mědník is a unique learning environment in which to observe the various historical phases of mining – from stepped surface excavations to adits, shafts, and underground mine workings. The hill comprises more than 80 shafts and adits, which are easily visible thanks to sink-holes, adit mouths, and heaps. The mining town of Měděnec was founded at the foot of the mountain around 1520.