This mine is open for visitors! After a roughly 600-metre journey on a pit railway, visitors can view the impressive vestiges of the period of silver and cobalt mining between 1733 and 1857, as well as of the later uranium mining by SAG Wismut. The main attraction is the fully-functional replica water wheel. Standing 9 metres high, it was accurately recreated by members of the historic mining association Verein Altbergbau. A lot of the original machinery used for bismuth mining is still present, and can be viewed during a walk around the grounds of the mining complex.
The underground visitors’ mine includes a large number of machine rooms and wheel chambers, as well as various drift mines and excavated areas from all mining periods. The visitors’ mine is accessed through adit 81. This adit was built for uranium mining during the last period of mining in this area. It was a pilot shaft directly connected to the newly bored shafts 79 and 117. The cross-cut, which is partially open to visitors, is 903 metres long in total. Nowadays, the front part of the cross-cut can be traversed with a pit railway. The newly lined mouth of adit 81 also forms the entrance to the visitors’ mine. The original mouth of the Markus Röhling adit, originally called the St. Anna adit, can be found to the south of the new entrance and is of historical significance. The adit stretches over a total area of approximately 8.6 kilometres. The adit mouth walls date from 1831. Above ground, there is a technology park at the edge of the visitors’ mine. The administration and assembly building in the Sehma valley is used as a modern functional building by the visitors’ mine.